• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

A Humidor necessary?

cvmfour

I'm just starting out and am wondering if a humidor is necessary. Say I go buy a couple single sticks. They should be fine if I leave them in the plastic or metal container, right? I always thought of humidors to be necessar for boxes. Fill me in fellas.

You sir, are wrong...well, kind of at least.

You definitely need some form of cigar storage vessel, but it doesn't need to be a bonified humidor. If you don't keep your cigars in a 60-70 % humidity environment they will dry out, lose their natural oils, and taste like monkey dung.

Try this:

1.Get a nice sized Tupperware container
2. Get a Credo unit from your local tobacconist (this is your humidification element)
3. Top off the Credo w/ distilled water (use tap water and you'll kill your cigars)
4. Double side tape the Credo to the Tupperware lid
5. Stick your cigars in there and put the lid on
6. Done

Give or take a few bucks, you've probably got about $15 in this set-up and it works as well as you'll ever need. Unless of course, you get hooked on this business like every other one of us :) Regardles, we call these units Tupperidors. Once you get hooked you can use the same principle w/ a Coleman cooler. Those are called Coolidors.

**Something else that works well is if you ask your local tobacconist for a couple of the thin sheets of Spanish Cedar that come in most boxes of cigars. Use some double-sided tape and line the base and sides of your container for aroma.**

cvmfour said:
I'm just starting out and am wondering if a humidor is necessary. Say I go buy a couple single sticks. They should be fine if I leave them in the plastic or metal container, right? I always thought of humidors to be necessar for boxes. Fill me in fellas.