• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Anyone interested in how geologists date rocks?

hydro-terp

I just finished an interesting post on another board and since I went through the trouble to type the geochronologist manifesto I thought someone else might be interested in reading it.

I promise it wont make your head hurt. :D

Russell

Only if there was a raging debate about it and you totally owned someone with your knowledge.

Lumberg said:
Only if there was a raging debate about it and you totally owned someone with your knowledge.
[snapback]201883[/snapback]​
I suppose you can guess what type of person I was heavily engaged with. :cool:

Disclaimer: I am not a geochronologist but my degree is in geology. It is not something I do but I have studied it in college. I know people who do this stuff. If I mistype, misspell, or use the wrong word it doesn’t take away from the bread and butter of the process. They have entire dictionaries devoted to scientific terminology and I don’t walk around with that stuff in my head. Also I’m trying to be brief so some parts may be oversimplified. I’m not writing a thesis here

OK buys and girls get your pen and paper out. Lets talk radiometric dating of rocks.

Lets start with a definition that is core to radiometric dating. An isotope is a radionuclide of an element that either has an excess or deficiency in the number of neutrons in the nucleus. Because of this it’s not a happy element. To get happy it sheds of gains neutrons to become a stable element. This is radioactive decay. The rate of decay is something that can be measured in the laboratory. Anybody heard of the phrase half-life? These isotopes decay into stable elements, which are called daughter elements. The isotope it comes from is called the parent element. For every daughter element there once was a parent element.