• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Cooking a turkey on the Smoker

I have been wanting to cook a bird on the smoker for quite some time now. In the past, I have cooked all kinds of poultry in it, but I have never actually prepared the Thanksgiving bird. This year we are hosting Thanksgiving dinner and I decided to give it a shot. This recipe also calls for soaking the bird in a brine, which is also something I have been wanting to do more of, so this should be fun.

I will try and take some pictures of the process and post them up, hopefully it turns out really good.

here is the recipe I am using.

Smoked Thanksgiving Turkey

Sounds real nice. I am doing a 20Lber on my chargrill smoker and cant wait. I use THIS website for any tips or questions I may have, it's great for any info needed. I am still a newb at smoking, but love it when ever I get the chance.

Oh yeah good luck

yeah, Steven has some great recipes and information in both his book(s) and his website.

I have a very used copy of the BBQ Bible at home!

I brine my birds regardless of smoking, BBQ or oven. I also apply the same rule as beef and let the sucker rest.

Brine recipe:

1 1/4 Cup Kosher Salt
3 1/4 Cup Sugar
2 Cup Honey
6 sprigs of parsley, thyme, tarragon & sage
2 sprigs rosemary
2 cinnamon sticks
2 Tablespoons Juniper Berries
2 lemons (halved)
2 Tablespoons anise
2 gallons boiling water

Combine all ingredients except boiling water in 5-Gallon heat proof container large enough to hold the turkey.Pour the boiling water over the brine ingredients a let mix cool to room temperature. Stir ingredients up and submerge the CLEAN turkey into the brine. Cover and refrigerate for 24 hours. Be sure to rinse the turkey after the brine process.

Putz is right.