• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

cutting a cigar

mjo2783

Reaction score
I am a novice. Can you cut a cigar in half with a cigar cutter? The reason I ask is I was wondering if you can cut a long cigar in half or should you just let it burn out and relight it when you want to smoke more? How do you store a cigar that has already been lit?

Start by searching with Google. There are TONS of articles on the 'net and videos on Youtube that explain basics.

I am a novice. Can you cut a cigar in half with a cigar cutter? The reason I ask is I was wondering if you can cut a long cigar in half or should you just let it burn out and relight it when you want to smoke more? How do you store a cigar that has already been lit?

You CAN, but the wrapper will start unraveling, which will be a pain. Your best bet is to grab a cigar that's the right size for the amount of time you want to put in. As far as letting it go out to smoke later, if left for very long the cigar will turn VERY bitter, and not be at all worth smoking(in most cases).

Don't relight your cigar, it will taste nasty. And definitely don't store an unlit previously lit cigar, it will make a nasty smell in your humidor. If you don't have time to smoke an entire cigar, just let it go out and throw it away. There are a lot of cigars that are smaller and won't take you too long to smoke if you find yourself pressed for time. I witnessed a co-worker cut a cigar in half that I gave him to share with his buddy. I cried a little.

Edit to add clarification.

You CAN, but the wrapper will start unraveling, which will be a pain. Your best bet is to grab a cigar that's the right size for the amount of time you want to put in. As far as letting it go out to smoke later, if left for very long the cigar will turn VERY bitter, and not be at all worth smoking(in most cases).

thanks for the help.