• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Deceptive advertising in our world

dixieland_conjunction

If it isn't dixieland, it isn't REAL jazz
I have something that’s bothering me about some of the Cigar retailers.

For those of you that don’t know, I earned a degree in marketing (and economics) and have a job in marketing. Actually, everyone has a job in marketing, but that’s a different rant I won’t bore you with ever. I’m “officially” in marketing because I have a windowed office in the marketing department. :thumbs:

There are several rules and regulations regarding advertising. Some rules are stricter than others, but there are very serious infractions regarding deceptive advertising. This is different from “false advertising,” because no facts are in question. One simply isn’t allowed to say a product is “biggest” or “fastest” or any other quantifiable superlative if it isn’t true. However, it is acceptable to say, “best” or “favorite” because that can neither be proven nor disproved.

There are certain unethical violations of the “code” of advertising. For instance (though this one I disagree with), one cannot advertise “$0.50 each or 3 for $2.00.” People automatically assume that a bulk purchase will render a discount. And, quite frankly, Americans are not skilled in math. Another thin-line topic is the labeling in extremely small print “inspired by” on packages. This is often found in gas station’s perfume selections “inspired by Tommy Girl.”