• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Fuente 858 Sungrown

akelly

I have been smoking cigars for over 10 years now and this is my first review. I smoke all brands, strengths, and sizes so; I do not have a regular rotation.

OK…..Here it goes

Cigar: Fuente 858 Sun Grown
Purchased: December 2005
Price: Around $ 4.50
Drink: 2007 Reserve Chardonnay from Barboursville
Temperature: 82 with low humidity

I felt the need to smoke a cigar due to the pleasant weather and opened the humidor to see what I had. Right on top I saw one of the three 858 Sun Grown’s that I have but have been avoiding (not sure why). I have smoked two of theses before but, it has been so long I don’t remember anything about them.

Pre Light/Light

I grabbed the cigar and headed out back to the deck. I slowly slide the cigar out of the cello which was deff starting to turn yellow. I pulled the cedar off and removed the ribbon on the foot and tape on the cedar cylinder. The cigar looked good, not amazing but good. The cap and wrapper appeared a bit toothy and the cigar had a long vein running through. I cut the top with a nice straight clean line and took a pre-draw and immediately smelt the cedar. I took a drink of the Chardonnay and lit a piece of cedar that was wrapped around the cigar with a Bic lighter and slowly toasted the foot of the cigar. I then took another piece of the cedar and lit it and slowly moved it to the foot of the cigar causing a nice even light.

First Third