• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

good(expensive) cigars and newbs

gixxer

I'm really new to the whole cigar game. My buddy and I decided that we would get a good cigar at the end of the summer before we go away to school. I'm thinking Opus X, but I really wonder if getting something that good will seem any different than getting a 858 at this stage.

I'm really new to the whole cigar game. My buddy and I decided that we would get a good cigar at the end of the summer before we go away to school. I'm thinking Opus X, but I really wonder if getting something that good will seem any different than getting a 858 at this stage.

Couple things:

1.) Have you gotten into the Newbie Trade yet, as suggested by the older members? IT IS WORTH THE EXPERIENCE and getting to know an established BOTL and establish a bit of trust. Check that out, and maybe mention to the FOG who's handling you that you are interested in trying an Opus.

2.) Judging by your posts, you seem to be a fan of AF 858s, and Olivas. I don't know what you pay for these guys, but Opus is a bit more, which is why you're wrestling with the idea of buying such an expensive stick.

I will say, Opus doesn't "do it" for everybody. Some guys swear by Opus X, other guys will fight you if you say anything sideways about Padron Annis (I'm talking about YOU 42!). I would honestly recommending trying it out just so you can have the experience.