• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

High flavor/low nicotine? And age/nicotine levels?

skesh

Hey everyone, a couple of questions for you. In this case, my number of posts here is reflective of the fact that I am a cigar newbie, so:

Can nicotine levels and flavor/aroma/depth/character in a cigar be exclusive of eachother? Is it possible to have a cigar without a high level of nicotine, that still tastes great and full, and smells lovely and complex?

Or is it like wine, whereas, a wine that has been made non-alcoholic, or has had the ABV considerably diminished, lacks the depth and body of it's previously more alcoholic counterpart?

I had a Montrecristo No. 4 a while ago, the first cigar I had. I paced myself, did it on a full stomach, and was fine. But still, I wonder, are there cigars (Cuban or otherwise), that offer excellent flavors, complexity, aroma, etc., but don't have the potential for a whallop of nicotine? Like I said, I was fine, I don't inhale, but I am curious...if such ones exist, what are they, in your experience?

Also, can aging a cigar, beyond perhaps mellowing, improving, or coalescing the flavor and aroma, diminish the nicotine levels over time?

Is an overly young, "green" cigar more likely to have an unpleasant quantity of nicotine in it than an older cigar?

Thanks for all your help! :D

I would say, yes, no, no, yes. I am noob too so lets hope some FOG's chime in with their 2 cents.

Wow, a response! Heh. Thanks for answering, and by all means, if any more people experienced with this can join in and answer too, I would much appreciate it! Thanks!

Hey Skesh, maybe if you gave some examples people would be more inclined to post.

IE

"Hey, this so-and-so stick really kicked my butt last night. Would aging it make it taste better and less potent?"

Or