• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

In a bag, in a box.

ckeller52

"All the Twitters. I know them."
How does the humidity have any effect on a cigar if it’s sealed in the box it was shipped in and inside a cello bag inside the box? Don’t seem like any moisture would ever make it to the tobacco.

I see pictures of beautiful humidors loaded with boxes of smokes on this forum and this aspect just baffles me.

Guess that's why I'm a newbie huh? :D

Hi CK,

Good question. The answer is basically this: wood and cellophane (which is a wood derivative) are far from impermable barriers to either moisture vapor or oxygen. I'll spare the chem-engineering-speak about diffusivities, diffusion coefficients, MVTR, OP and the like. The bottom line is that given sufficient time, the cigars will reach an equilibrium with the external environment.

As folks who age for the long term want their sticks to do so gently and gracefully, this slow approach to equilibrium and resistance to environmental changes is considered a beneficial thing. This is true for the casual cigarist as well except that aging is not as important a goal as is protecting the wrapper from the humidity fluctuations that occur when the humi is opened and closed.

Hope that helps.

Wow Wilkey......

You sound like you know what you are talking about

:sign: :sign:

Ginseng said:
wood and cellophane (which is a wood derivative) are far from impermable barriers to either moisture vapor or oxygen.
[snapback]272199[/snapback]​

Hi Ginseng

Well it raised my cigar IQ that's for sure. Thanks for the response.

I googled cellophane and found that Dupont managed to make a version that's moisture proof. I assume that the manufactures are aware of this and stay away from it.