• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

New to pipes

johncarbaugh

Antisocial Prick!
Just ordered my first pipes. Got Missouri Meerschaum Ozark Mountain Cherry or Maple Bent, Missouri Meerschaum Mini Cob Coated, and Missouri Meerschaum Pony Express. Also got a tamper and some pipe cleaners. From Frenchy's.

I was wondering if someone would set me up with a sampler. Something like the cigar noob sampler. Looked and found nothing like it for pipes. Post or PM me. I will send out my end first.

I am new to pipes and don't want to waste money on crap like I did with cigars. One word Thompson. :angry:

Are you looking to acquire a couple of bowlfuls of a number of tobaccos?

Doc

my advice for a new pipe smoker is:

1. get yourself some cobs (you've already done that)

2. get yourself some prince albert or carter hall tobacco (available at most drug/grocery stores)

these 2 tobaccos are the best for new smokers because:
1. they pack easy
2. they light easy **
3. build cake easy, they won't gunk up your bowl.
4. smoke cool with very little bite. (puff SLOWLY)
5. won't leave a ghost in your bowl when you move to other blends.

**if the tobacco out of the pouch seems too moist, let it air dry a bit before packing.

it's going to take some practice before you get the packing/lighting/smoking technique
down, but these two tobaccos are the most forgiving when mistakes are made.