• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

No time for cigars

SBellew

I am finding that I have very little time to step outside and fire up a cigar. When I do, its for 5-10 minutes and then it sits and I have to relight it and am not finding relights as enjoyable as the original.

Is the relight on a pipe still enjoyable or does it get stale tasting after it goes out?

Do you get enjoyment from a pipe if you just get to puff on it for 5-10 minutes at a time instead of getting to smoke the entire bowl?

Keep in mind with a pipe, you dont even have to pack an entire bowl to smoke, you can regulate your time by the amt you pack. Therefore, your not wasting money. :p

I am fairly new to pipes myself- going on my second year. I relight and have no probs with the flavor provided I clean the pipe first of course. Hell, I have to relight a few times initially because of my non-developed packing skills. Over the course of a day, it is not uncommon for me to pick a loaded pipe up 2-3 times with the same tobacco in it. This may change as my taste refines. If I have longer than 15-20 minutes to smoke (assuming it is warm), I prefer a cigar over a pipe most often. If you find the relight unpleasant, maybe consider investing in some smaller bowls built for a quick smoke?

Good points.

I might have to see if I can start a trade. Cigars for pipe hardware :( Is there anything wrong with buying a $15 pipe from a tobacco shop to start with or are they like everything else cheap and will ruin the enjoyment process?