• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

paging the cohiba esplendido experts...

puffnstuff

altruistic pervert
first of all, my name's emmett and I'm a newbie here, but I've been reading the forums a bit and this seems like a great place to learn and meet other cigar fanatics. I hope to eventually be part of a pass, but all things in due time.

anyway, here's my situation:

I'm pretty new to the world of cigar smoking (6 or 7 months), and in my inexperienced ignorance early on, I made the all-too-common mistake of purchasing a box of cohiba esplendidos (or what I thought was a box of cohiba esplendidos)...ok ok, everybody get their sighs of annoyance and giggles out of their systems...
since I live in the US, and purchased the box from somebody also in the US, I now know that that is already a red flag, but now that I've done a bit of research on authenticity vs. counterfeiting, I've got a pretty good idea of what to look for...and I've got to say, if this box (and/or cigars) isn't authentic, then the counterfeiters deserve an award for their effort. everything seems to check out; seals, stamps, hologram sticker, serial numbers etc. etc.. the cigars look and smell good and have consistant color and shape with what looks like good construction, nice triple-caps and such. but since I've never smoked (or even seen) an esplendido, I wouldn't ever know for sure if these are real or not.
I haven't smoked any of the cigars from this box either, so I don't have an opinion on them yet, myself. I guess I've wanted to wait 'til I know what it is I'm smoking. even if they are good, I'd still love to know whether I'm smoking a real esplendido or not.

here's what I'd like to do: