• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Pontiac R.I.P.

cajunblaze

If you don't know, I am a manager at a 6 point dealership.( Chevy, Pontiac, Buick, Chrysler, Dodge, and Jeep)

We we're just notified to hold all Pontiac deals.

R.I.P.

Rich

I'm really sorry to hear that.
Try to stay positive...things will get better.

I wouldn't bet the farm in it, it's looking bleak for US automakers, unfortunately...

Don't get me wrong, we only kept three or four in stock. You can only do the best you can do, and believe you can. We are a smaller dealership than most and are doing ok. Thanks to used cars!

Rich

Over the years Pontiac has had some great cars. In my younger days it was all about what was new and trendy. As I get older, I seem to prefer familiar things and Pontiac was certainly familiar. I am a little sad it will be going away. Same with Oldsmobile a few years back.

I bought a one year old Pontiac Grand Am a few years back when I wasn't doing so well. I had lost everything in a break up with a long time fiance. The 3.4 V6 had great power, I got 30 plus mpg on the highway, it was dirt cheap and ran like a top. It wasn't a BMW, but it was a nice car just the same.

My wife now owns an 07 Grand Prix. It has 3.8 V6 that gets well over 30 mpg on the highway, has 200 h.p., looks sporty enough to keep her happy and I paid just over $11,000 for it with 10,000 miles. It was only a year old. It has been a good car.

R.I.P. Pontiac and the jobs that will go with it.

It's a shame Pontiac couldn't drop GM.

Can someone explain to me why they don't drop the 'GM' brand instead? The GM line is nothing but redundant. If they drop Pontiac, that only leaves the Chevrolet brand to attract younger buyers, while they have GM, Buick & Cadillac all catering to an older crowd. I am not wise in the auto industry, but that just seems foolish to me.