• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

QDO GC: First smoke

Eins

This is my first attempt on a report. So please be kind :0

I'm new to cigars. I'm brand new to Cubans. I thought I'm not ready for the fuller bodied ones, so I followed the advice to get these Quai D'Orsay Gran Coronas. They are my first ISOMs.

They came from HK and rested in my humi at 67% for a few days before I lit up the first one. A punch and a spark later, I tasted--nothing. Okay, there was a faint taste of smoke but nothing worth writing home about. Smelling the smoke through the nose was very pleasant. This is a cigar that bystanders must love. But for this smoker, it was a low-impact experience.

After about 5 minutes, it went out for the first time. The burn was not very even until then, but it got better after the second time. This one lasted for quite a while, and I must say, by half the length, there was a nice taste. Somewhere between vanilla and caramel. Quite pleasant. Unfortunately, it went out again by the time it reached the last third. I let it cool down and chopped off the end with my brand new Xikar (what a sharp cutter!). It lit up somewhat okay but needed constant maintenance to stay lit, with the result of getting hot. I did not enjoy that last third and let it die an inch and a half before its end.

With 24 of them left in my humi, I'm not giving up on them yet. How long should I let them sit and rest and age? They were rolled in April of 04. Oh, and I can anticipate the comments of getting the humidity down. I'm working on that.

The cigar was too moist... :(

I would recommend letting them rest at least until April of '07. These cigars have an great flavor if stored correctly and smoke best in the morning/afternoon.

Try to smoke the next one at 60%-62% and smoke it slowly... :)