• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Romeo Y Julieta 1875

dannymer1974

Tonight I smoked a RYJ 1875 (corona?) and I wanted to get some feedback from experienced smokers on this particular Cigar. I am a newbie to the sport of Cigar Smoking and am wondering if my tastes are not refined enough to enjoy this cigar?

The smell prior to lighting was decent, but nothing that made me want to take a bite out of it, like some in my humidor. It looked nice with a smooth wrapper of high quality construction. It was easy to light, and the draw was very smooth right off the bat, with a decent amount of smoke with each puff. The consistency of the ash was gray and just a little flaky, but I was outside so I imagine that this would have been a tight ash.

The taste was minimal for me...............this is the problem. In fact, I felt like I was smoking a huge cigarette. I have not felt that way about any of the other cigars that I have smoked over the last couple of months, and wonder if it was the cigar, the atmosphere, my dinner a couple of hours before? In the end, I was left a little dissatisfied and wondering what happened. I was really looking forward to this one too.

Who has smoked this, and what were your impressions? I have a couple of more, so maybe I will let them sit at least 6 months and try them again.

Note: I received these in an onoine purchase about a month ago.......at that time they went through the freeze process where they go fridge, freeze 3-4 days, fridge 1 day, room temp for 1.2 day then in the humidor. Could this impact the taste? Do I need to wait longer to smoke them after the freeze? Does everybody freeze, or is it a waste of time?

Thanks,

I have a couple of these in my coolidor that I haven't tried yet. I keep putting them off and saving them for a different occassion, but I have heard good things about them.