• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Single malt scotch suggestions

njsarge

I am somewhat new to scotch. I tried johnnie walker red label last year and didn't care for it. I would like to try something in the glenfiddich or glenlivet line. Something under $50 if possible, I would probably prefer it on the rocks when I am smoking a cigar. Just looking for some ideas before I go and buy something.

Did you see the pinned thread of this subforum?

I believe AVB has a large selection of reviews....easier to find something you'll like since no one knows exactly what flavors you are searching for.

AVB reviews the Glenfiddich 15 Solera Reserve. That scotch fits you desired traits of Glenfiddich and below $50.

Thanks I just saw that, that glennfiddich looks good. I will have to see if I can pick some up tomorrow.

If you really want to try Glenlivet or Glenfiddich I would try Glenlivet 18. I prefer it to Glenfiddich 15.

For about the same money you can buy Balvenie 12 Double Wood, Cragganmore 12, Macallan 12 and Johnnie Walker Green. All good stuff.

Of those sigar_zealot recommended, I second Balvenie Double Wood and Macallan 12. Cragganmore is an excellent pour but IMHO it is not as easy to enjoy for someone starting out. Johnnie Walker Green is good stuff but technically it's not a single malt.

All good suggestions so far. If you're just starting out, I suggest you find a bar with a good scotch selection, go on a slow night, tell the bartender you want to try several different styles of scotch, and ask him if he's game for giving (well, selling) you 1/2 oz. samples of a bunch of different whiskies.

Well there sarge.....I would first suggest you post an intro in the proper forum and then fill out your profile. After that I'll be glad to answer any questions you may have.