• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Strong Cigars and a full stomach

ckeller52

"All the Twitters. I know them."
Cigar ad's and reviews are always mentioning that the cigar in question is medium to full bodied or it's referred to as a "Powerhouse" and should not be smoked by a beginner or during daylight hours and you should have defiantly had a large meal beforehand.

What does food, sunlight and being a newbie have to do with smoking a cigar?

The part that really has me is the food part. Why do I need to eat before I smoke a strong cigar? Does it enhance the flavor? Or is it so I'll have something to hurl if I'm a newbie and it makes me sick? :rolleyes:

Actually it'll stop you from barfing. I will not smoke a Tat Regios without eating something first.

It is kind of like drinking on an empty stomach but in this case the nicotine and tobacco punch will hit you harder if you haven't eaten.

....try a Power Ranger and a cup of fresh, strong, black coffee first thing in the AM. Now, THAT is the "Breakfast of Champions"..... :laugh:

Regards - B.B.S.

....try a Power Ranger and a cup of fresh, strong, black coffee first thing in the AM.
Regards - B.B.S.

Actually I'll smoke a Power Ranger in the morning with a glass of ice tea....and that's without eating first. Power Rangers don't have that much of a kick for me.

I had a huge CAO MX2 on an empty stomach once and I couldn't drive for over 2 hours. Now I only smoke small or milder cigars on an empty stomach. I would say food 'dilutes' the nicotine. I have also noticed that some sort of stronger alcohol with a cigar helps too...something like a cognac, brandy or whiskey...my guess is that the sugar either present in the drink or produced after consumption counters the nic also.