• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Surround Sound Systems

MoeCizlak

Built for comfort
Any audiophiles wanna give some recommendations?  We're moving into a new house in a couple of weeks and there is one room that has been unclaimed by the rest of my family that could make for a nice, little movie/sports-viewing room.  I've done a little research into it and it seems pretty daunting.  I'm on a budget and am never one who has to have the latest/greatest, highest end of anything.  So, is there a Padron 2000 of the surround sound world? :)

I'm no expert, but "surround" always seemed like a waste to me. I'd get a nice receiver with plenty of inputs and HDMI pass through and two nice tower speakers for each side of the TV. You can always add a sub and rear/side/center speakers later if you don't think that's enough.

I haven't been able to find any good dual-voltage recovers, so my plan has to wait until I get back to the states.

John

I guess I'm an audiophool and I would never recommend a surround system. TV is just not that important to me. I presently have my TV cable box outputs connected to my pre-amp and I'm quite happy with the sound I get. If you're interested in a two channel system, I would be glad to help you out. Just PM me with your budget and I'll see what I can do.

Doc

With surround sound, only one person gets to actually experience it because you adjust it to a particular area of the room. Definately a good set of speakers and a sub-woofer for effect (stereo).

...yes and no.