• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Top 5 known Cuban Cigars?

Ugaman72

As a newbie, I was wondering what the great Cuban Cigar experts on here would think are the top 5 recognizable Cuban cigars? I'm not talking about your top 5 favorites. I'm talking about the top 5 brands and sizes that is most instantly recognizable? I am a newbie, but even as a newbie I had always heard of the infamous Montecristo #2. Would that be number 1? Or even close?
-Chad

As a newbie, I was wondering what the great Cuban Cigar experts on here would think are the top 5 recognizable Cuban cigars? I'm not talking about your top 5 favorites. I'm talking about the top 5 brands and sizes that is most instantly recognizable? I am a newbie, but even as a newbie I had always heard of the infamous Montecristo #2. Would that be number 1? Or even close?
-Chad

Just because cigars are recognizeable doesn't make them the best, it makes them accessible. Taste is so subjective. For instance the Monte #2, as referenced, as well as the Monte #4 are probably the two best selling cuban cigars in the world. My personal experience with the #2 to date has not been good at all, and this is after several. I know many who've not had my same experience though.

I'd say Cohiba Siglo VI, Esplendido and H. Upmann Sir Winnie's should be somewhere near the top. This is just from my experience, but like I said taste is subjective.

Have not had a Siglo VI yet, but I certainly agree on the Esplendido and the Sir Winnies. I would also love to add Monte 4's, Party Lusitanias, and maybe SLR double Coronas as well. I am newer to CC's though, so I could be off a bit though. :) I have a ton I love so far though, so it is tough to narrow them down.

Don