• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Being A Noob Here (Long)

Juanote

The sound of one hand fapping
I had no idea what a "cigar pass" was before registering in this forum. Some key noob primers are not functional any longer so it took me a little while to understand its purpose.

Now that I have an idea I admit to having mixed feelings about it.

I'm a generous person and I earn a decent living. In my youth I was generous to a fault and had a hard time accepting it in return. Now I'm always getting onto my wife for trying to avoid the generosity of others, and always insisting on picking up the check or paying the tab, or always finding a way to slip someone cash when they are not looking. I tell her all the time that friendship entails mutual generosity, without placing too much emphasis upon it. Mutual generosity indicates recognition of the value inherent in the company being kept, and thereby becomes progressively less important as the friendship develops. If mutual generosity remains a prominent concern in the relationship, then there is no room for the friendship to develop. Ultimately, friends trust one another's motives or they are not friends.

So now I am a noob on this forum.

Now that I understand the nature of this community, I also understand the social dynamic. In order to gain trust here, a person must first establish bona fides as a BOTL to assure that they are not a troll or pirate looking for a freebie or to make a nuisance. It could hardly be otherwise in this day and age.

So a humble attitude that patiently cultivates friendships is the price of admission to the community table. Else the obvious fun and mutual generosity of cigar passing would be impossible without some assurance that the intentions of the majority of people can be trusted.