Do all cellular carriers require data package with smart phones?

Satchmo

Why do they call it a Power Ranger???
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
1,881
I'm due for a new phone and currently have a basic LG Cosmos. I was thinking of getting a smart phone to play with a few of the fun apps and games, but Verizon requires a data package for $30-40 more a month. I understand it may not make complete sense to get a smart phone without a data package, but I really don't need to constantly connect. I would be happy block all data unless there was a WiFi available.

Do all carriers require data now? Any ways around this? I thought Sprint may be the exception.
 

GMAN21

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2011
Messages
376
I have an iPhone with AT&T and yes they require a data package. AT&T requires it with all smartphones. I believe it's the same with all cell providers these days.
 

bfreebern

Yada, Yada, Yada.
Joined
Jun 22, 2004
Messages
15,189
I think the better question is: "Do you have to be smart, to have a smart phone?"
 

Acclaym

Moderation in moderation
Joined
Jun 14, 2011
Messages
2,155
I know with Verizon it is mandatory.
If, by chance, you have Verizon with unlimited data already, they will let you grandfather in with unlimited data for your smart phone.
 

grateful1

Oh My!
Joined
Feb 6, 2006
Messages
19,138
I know with Verizon it is mandatory.
If, by chance, you have Verizon with unlimited data already, they will let you grandfather in with unlimited data for your smart phone.
I had a phone plan with Verizion..no data.

Purchased a smart phone way back when and told them I wanted to set it up...just as a phone - no data plan.

Heck, I even swithced to a different model online and it was fine...no data charges.

They said sure...and I used a wi-fi card if I needed to connect.
 

Satchmo

Why do they call it a Power Ranger???
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
1,881
I think the better question is: "Do you have to be smart, to have a smart phone?"
B-

I thought the smartphone made the user smart. Kinda like osmosis by carrying around in my pocket. I ask Verizon if they had any Meatheadphones and they said they sent the last one to Jonesy.
 

bfreebern

Yada, Yada, Yada.
Joined
Jun 22, 2004
Messages
15,189
I think the better question is: "Do you have to be smart, to have a smart phone?"
B-

I thought the smartphone made the user smart. Kinda like osmosis by carrying around in my pocket. I ask Verizon if they had any Meatheadphones and they said they sent the last one to Jonesy.
Hmmm, maybe that explains why I've been here @ Vz for 13 years :laugh:
 

jaxstraww

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
237
All smart phones need a data package. Would be nice just to wifi but not for the cell carriers.

Long time verizon customer and one that was grandfathered in with unlimited. You know what....I gave it up last month and went with boost. With shrinkage and free texting I pay ten bucks less per month and have more stuff available. Mainly the texting. And every six months my bill goes down another five dollars.
 

geldor1

Can't Re- Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2003
Messages
2,220
How is the coverage with Boost?

I get a 22% discount on my Verizon bill and it is still higher than several friends with other carriers with the same type of plans.
 

Satchmo

Why do they call it a Power Ranger???
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
1,881
I have been pretty happy with Verizon service and their coverage. I guess I will have to deal with my basic phone or pony up the cash. It's tough being a penny pinching miser.
 

bfreebern

Yada, Yada, Yada.
Joined
Jun 22, 2004
Messages
15,189
I have been pretty happy with Verizon service and their coverage. I guess I will have to deal with my basic phone or pony up the cash. It's tough being a penny pinching miser.
I'd suggest getting your teeth fixed, before you worry about getting a the data plan.....maybe a damn hair cut as well. Your avatar is getting scary.
 

Pipe Smoker

Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Messages
544
I think the trend is that carriers are now starting to require data plans with many non-smart phones too.
 

grateful1

Oh My!
Joined
Feb 6, 2006
Messages
19,138
All smart phones need a data package. Would be nice just to wifi but not for the cell carriers.

Long time verizon customer and one that was grandfathered in with unlimited. You know what....I gave it up last month and went with boost. With shrinkage and free texting I pay ten bucks less per month and have more stuff available. Mainly the texting. And every six months my bill goes down another five dollars.
That was not true a couple years ago.

Yes...if you go in with a smart phone and switch your number to that device...you cna just switch the phone. I've done it.

I also had an existing phone and was not changing anything.

Heck, I think you can do this all online know, if you log into your account.

I will verify with a friend who is a sales rep. (no, he didn't help me way back when I did this).
 

rbbrock

Active Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2007
Messages
1,032
I suspect the key might be that if you're buying the phone and plan together, you have to buy the data plan because they use that money to subsidize the cheap(er) phone. If you go in with a phone you already own you may be able to just buy a voice plan for it.
 

grateful1

Oh My!
Joined
Feb 6, 2006
Messages
19,138
I suspect the key might be that if you're buying the phone and plan together, you have to buy the data plan because they use that money to subsidize the cheap(er) phone. If you go in with a phone you already own you may be able to just buy a voice plan for it.
Correct.

They can't sell a phone at the discount price and NOT have you get a full plan.
You can buy a phone full price and they should be able to attach anything you want.

I simply called up and said I had a new phone (actually it was a TREO)...but I did NOT want my plan adjusted ( at the time it was just phone).

So, trade for or buy a phone and away you go... :D
 

Pipe Smoker

Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Messages
544
I suspect the key might be that if you're buying the phone and plan together, you have to buy the data plan because they use that money to subsidize the cheap(er) phone. If you go in with a phone you already own you may be able to just buy a voice plan for it.
Correct.

They can't sell a phone at the discount price and NOT have you get a full plan.
You can buy a phone full price and they should be able to attach anything you want.

I simply called up and said I had a new phone (actually it was a TREO)...but I did NOT want my plan adjusted ( at the time it was just phone).

So, trade for or buy a phone and away you go... :D
I tried to do something similar when I left my last phone on the back of a truck (which then drove off). Someone gave me an old Treo and I tried to activate it on Verizon - my previous phone was Sprint. They told me they couldn't sign me up unless I agreed to take a data plan. I don't know if it would have been different if I already had Verizon service and just tried to swap phones. That was several years ago now, though.
 

Satchmo

Why do they call it a Power Ranger???
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
1,881
I have been pretty happy with Verizon service and their coverage. I guess I will have to deal with my basic phone or pony up the cash. It's tough being a penny pinching miser.
Heck, that picture is from my young and beautiful days. Most of those yeller teeth have fallen out.
 
Top