• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

How do you rate your cigars?

Succubus

I've noticed that a lot people rate their cigars out of 100 points without any breakdown as to how they get there. Since I'm new to reviews, I was wondering how everyone breaks this down so that I can better understand as well as be consistent with my own reviews. I like the idea of doing it out of 100 to be more precise.

I haven't done many reviews, Bri.
If I did, I don't know that I'd use a 100 point scale. Now you have me wondering if any of the reviewers who use it have ever explained it.

If I did decide to do reviews regularly, I might just keep it fairly simple, like:
Yuck
Meh
Decent - Try some more
Good
Excellent
Holy Shit!

:)

Afterthought:

I would think that a certain percentage could be applied for different aspects of the experience.

Burn - Construction
Aroma
Flavor
Consistency
Whatever else not coming to mind.

Afterthought:

I would think that a certain percentage could be applied for different aspects of the experience.

Burn - Construction
Aroma
Flavor
Consistency
Whatever else not coming to mind.
Yea I thought of those things too but wasn't sure what percent of the points goes to each and if there are other categories. I'm sure taste and aroma are a greater percent but wouldn't know how much.

I used to have a copy somewhere of the point breakdown used by CA. It was a guide I used when I first started smoking. I looked through my files for it, but couldn't find it. If I come across it, I'll be sure to post it. But now, I have to say I'm with Jim and Dan. From meh to *WOW*, numbers need not apply.