• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Mold or Plume?

Zach

Addicted to race cars
Hey every1,
I found a great deal on a sealed 10ct box of VSG Robusto ($78) and took her home. However, upon opening her up, there is something on the sticks. I dont know if its mold or plume, so hopefully somebody can share their insight with me! Pictures to follow.

-Zach

Nice price. Looking forward to the pictures....hope it works out for you.

Pictures:

smalldsc019701fc.jpg

smalldsc019722bc.jpg

Definately mold...
Sorry!
These sticks are notorious for moldiness.
-Rob

Looks like mold to me. Not the green kind, but mold anyway. Of course I'm a newb, so take it for what's it worth.

This is assuming that the words "plume" and "bloom" are being used interchangeably. I know some people say that plume and bloom are two different things and some people say they are the same thing. Plume or bloom would be more like little crystals that look like salt or sugar, not hairy little colonies.

I had some of this same looking substance on a couple of tubos and was told it was a kind of mold. It just wiped right off and they smoked fine.

Hope this helps. Sorry to see it on your smokes.

mold it is. i ventured into a local shop last week and saw the same thing on the same cigars, could this be coming from the factory like that?

Moki, you wouldn't try getting them replaced? isn't there a possibility (albeit not too great with what seems to be not that much mold) that the flavor would be affected? I would love to hear that I am over-cautios when it comes to mold.

ARE vsg's NOTORIOUS FOR THIS?

I stopped into a tobacco shop at a rest stop oasis here in IL while on my way to Great America..

Called The tobacco Room. I think GGiESE mentioned this place to me befor.

Well they had 2 boxes of Ashton VSG's and both boxes looked exactly like the pictures you just showed.