• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

New guy trying to re-hydrate sticks

Dapper D

Let me first by saying Thanks in advance for any assistance, its greatly appreciated, second, I am new to the cigar world (about 9 months).

I recently received some cigars from a military friend who is deployed and his wife is doing everything for their move. They are putting things in storage until he returns so she called and asked if I wanted the cigars in his humidor, of course I said yes. (its been neglected since he left). Once I received them I realized they were dry and needed to be re-humified. I did the research on how to bring them back, purchased the Boveda packs, a Boveda humidor bag, and even a air tight tupperware container. I first started by calibrating my hygrometer with the Boveda calibration kit, put the sticks in the tupperdor, and started with a 62% pack, it stayed steady at 60% after 2 days and remained there for a couple of weeks. I then moved up to a 69% pack (local shop did not have 65% packs), The hygrometer no reads 58% and has been steady for 3 days. Will the humidity come up? Do I need to do something different? Are the sticks beyond saving?

Thanks again.

How many sticks are we talking about. Are they sticks that are worth the time, effort and Boveda packs?
Thanks for the reply. There are only about 20. Financially wise, probable not but I am more about the education and challenge. I would like to succeed in bringing them back, if I can't then I have gained valuable knowledge and experience.

Sadly, once the oils in a cigar have dried up you can rehydrate them but they will never taste appropriate again.

These are sticks to give your brother-in-law for Christmas.