• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Spin Off on the Knife topic

JBL11183

Lurker
I happen to be a knife guy and loved reading all the posts about what knives everyone carries and all the other info..It got me wondering, what do you guys do for sharpening, what tools and methods do you guys use...I am a nooB when it comes to it and Id love some suggestions

I was wondering the same thing. I've carried a replaceable blade Craftsman razor knife for so long I've not ever kept up with the sharpening techniques for a standard blade. I have one of these that was given to me but have never used it. Something similar at least...

3267507206_4bde625fb5.jpg

I have several items that I use to maintain my cutlery.

Truth be told, technique plays a huge role in getting a knife scary sharp.

Too many folks get wrapped up in the tools, and don't really understand the principles involved in creating or maintaining

an edge.

I have several items that I use to maintain my cutlery.

Truth be told, technique plays a huge role in getting a knife scary sharp.

Too many folks get wrapped up in the tools, and don't really understand the principles involved in creating or maintaining

an edge.

Speaking of that, have you heard of the "scary sharp" technique using sandpaper for woodworking tools? I'm not much of a knife guy, or woodworker (yet) so I can't really comment on how well it works.

Yes, saw a video of that once. I think it is on youtube. Wes Carter (Supposedly Japanese trained, or at least trained in

Japanese techniques) is on Youtube, as well. He sharpens a knife with a brick and some newspaper.