• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Mold or Plume?

calstogy

I recently received a "special" of ten cigars from one of the well known vendors. At least one of the ten cigars has a splotch of white on the end that appears to be mold. I wrote to the vendor and they were sympathetic to an extent:

The only color mold would be on a cigar is green. If it is green, I'd be happy to setup a return for you.

It seems that mold can also be white.

Link - Background material on white mold

I would like to hear the learned opinion of others - Is this mold or Plume?. Here is photo I took of the cigar. I don't have a telephoto lens, so the photo is not as good as it could be. With a hand held magnifying glass, it looks like little white threads:

mold_or_bloom.jpg

Thanks - Rick

Wow I would think that is Mold I am no expert but man I would not wanna take my chances rp

Definitely Mold

This is Plume;

plume.gif

bloom.gif

You see plume my dear chap, is powdery and very easy to remove, similar to dust or that powdered sugar commoners oh-so-dearly enjoy on their ringed pastries.
Mold on the other hand, is fuzzy, spotty, and can be green or white.

You sir, have mold. If the retailer still fails to offer a replacement or refund, I strongly suggest you cease further patronage.
If the cigar is to be kept, inspect all and quarantine the foul cigars away from the true.
If the mold is still minimal, brush off the mold and be sure to smoke the ailing cigars post-haste.

That cigar you have there still appears acceptable for a fine morning smoke, perhaps while improving ones play at the golf course.

Good day to you sir.

Definitely mold. Plume is a crystal form. Yours has the hairs you mentioned, plus you can see the tiny spores forming on the end of the hairs.
The most common form of mold I see on cigars is white. Although, I have seen green mold as well.