• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Padron Executive Maduro

cigardawg

Last night, my Mate and I opened a bottle of wine and retired to the smoking room with cigars. I chose a Padron Executive Maduro that was dated 10/1/98. That's right, I have been aging this $6 stick for the last 7+ years.

Padron Executive Maduro

The cellophane on this cigar was yellowed from the oils in the wrapper. I carefully removed the plastic and took a deep breath to gauge the nose. The cigar had a sweet wood/earth bouquet with helpings of peat on the side. Now, I must admit, the maduro wrapper was not very attractive. It was very mottled, not the pure dark that is a broadleaf. This Nicaraguan maduro looked to be just what it was, sun grown and natural. There were no appreciable veins and the seams were almost invisible. I clipped it with my Il Corona and tested the draw. Perfect. :thumbs: So far so good.

I put the torch to it and it lit almost instantly...like the cigar wanted to be smoked. I once again tested the draw and it remained...perfect. Small puffs were all that were needed to pull out abundant mouthfuls of rich, thick smoke. Smoke what was, indeed, just right for smoke rings. :p The ash on this cigar was very firm and burned a clean, bright white color. The burn was even throughout the smoke...all the way down this 7 1/2 inch cigar. The smoke stayed cool thoughout, never heating up. This was a very pleasant and easy cigar to smoke.