• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

R&J 5 Short Churchills, look fake

mcoupe

My neighbor (again) dropped off some "cuban" cigars in a box as he doesn't smoke and knew I enjoyed cigars. They are R&J Short Churchills (non-tubed) in a box labeld "5 Short Churchills." I don't know if they make them in a 5 pack but these cigars look very suspect to me. I'm no expert but here's what I noticed:

- The fonts on the cover of the box are not centered
- The cigars did not have that much of a smell to them and they seem a little dark although I don't have a real one to compare to
- Looks like there a triple caps but they look sloppy and rough in some places
- The fonts on red label look too light and uneven on all the cigars with some touching the gold. The white border also seems uneven. Is there supposed to be a dot between Habana and Cuba.

Anyone have an opinion? Thanks.

Here are a few pics:

ryjsc9.jpg

ryjsc.jpg

ryjsc7.jpg

ryjsc5.jpg

ryjsc3.jpg

Hard to tell from the pics, but HSA do sell the RyJ short churchills in that packaging. Sloppy pringting and a sloppy triple cap doesn't necessarily mean fake and the absence of a strong odor might just be because of storage conditions. Looking at the foot, the construction looks pretty good.

Sam,

You've seen the non-tubed in cardboard packs of 5? I'll have to do some digging but that doesn't look right to me. I have see the tubos in 3-packs, 5 to a mini-case, but never the non-tubed.

Oh, and by the way, the packs should have a miniature warranty seal across the top flap, front, and back complete with glowing coat of arms IIRC. I'll have to check when I get home but that's my recollection.

Wilkey

The PC 5 packs have 'Romeo Y Julieta' in white letters with red background, under the border at the top.
Even the 3 pack tubo's are that way.

I don't know why they would deviate from that printing.