• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

TABOADA.....Myth, hype, last word?

alpi57

I am new the site and have seen many threads regarding Rodolfo Taboada. Pros, cons and everything in between. After reading a few of these I felt compelled to put in my two cents.
I have been traveling to the Island for at least five years, almost every 3-4 months. I got to know Taboada on my second trip. In the beginning, I found him to be aloof, quiet and dignified with an air of snubbishness. I liked that about him as most true artists are that way. I also saw many other torcedores there that would even do a back flip to get you to buy something from them. Not him. He was and always has been a take-it-or-leave-it personality. I got to know him and his family better in my subsequent trips. I found him to be a true human being in every sense of the word.
Now for his abilities as a torcedor. He has rolled cigars for about 48 years. This puts him on top of the piramide as far as experience next to Jose Cueto, Reynaldo, Pepito and such. Having said that, bear in mind that years in the business does not guarrantee talent or knowledge. He has won numerous rolling competitions in Cuba against all these "great" rollers. He retired from the La Corona factory about one and a half years ago. But that is retirement from factory and not from cigar rolling. He still has his private clients from all over the world that keeps him busy. So if you hear that his appearance anywhere in the world is his last one due to his retirement, it is not true. The man enjoys rolling and making money. It is interesting that while in Havana you can go to any of the LCDH,s or the factories, or the farms and mention his name and I have yet to find anyone to say anything remotely derogatory about him. And furthermore, they all unanimously revere him as a master and a great human being.